JAPANESE COVERED BRIDGE

Covered Bridge, also known as Japanese Covered Bridge or Lai Vien Bridge, was due to the legend that it was built in the early seventeenth century by Japanese people and was at least 6 times restored in 1653, 1763, 1817, 1865, 1915, 1917.

The Bridge has a unique roof and a rainbow-styled path in the middle. At the two sides, there are narrow hallways to make for displays or take a rest with seven wooden compartments crossing a small creek, which are textured and decorated expressing harmony among Vietnamese, Chinese, Japanese, and Western architectural style. Along with the traffic function, the bridge is also where religious activities related to the legend of keeping peace for streets and communities of Hoi An out of sea monsters take place.